Rag Rug Woes and Other Crafty News

So I had a bunch of old sheets that we weren’t using, and had the brilliant idea to use them for a rug. It’s resourceful and eco-friendly to upcycle something, right? Then I learned a valuable lesson–I don’t like making rag rugs.

I didn’t like tearing up the sheet and all the strings I then had to individually clean off each strip. I didn’t like the ancient fiber dust that coated everything in the room from all the ripping. The weaving itself was OK, but still not my favorite activity. Then I was running out of strips and realized I’d need more than one sheet to make a decent sized rug. That was disheartening considering how much I disliked the ripping and tearing process.

So I just finished it and it’s too small. But I do look on the bright side. I tried something new and I didn’t care for it. That’s ok. Trying new things always teaches us more about ourselves, and for that I am thankful.

Here is my itty bitty rug. I added more fringe to try and make it look bigger. I’m not convinced that did much for it.

rag rug

 

I did have some crafty successes this week though. I finished a kitchen puzzle, glued, framed, and hung it in our dining area. AND I made a cozy blanket as a house-warming gift for my brother and fiancée. They just moved into their first place together! I can’t wait to go visit! Until next time, keep crafting! 😀

Crocheted in the V-stitch

Crocheted in the V-stitch

 

 

 

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

