Arm Knitting – A Work in Progress

So while browsing the interwebs the other day and ran across this adorable project:

It uses arm knitting, which is a technique I’ve never tried before. I had a bunch of bright summer colors I thought would be fun to use and decided to give it a go.

Fun summer color yarn with my sun hat and bathing suit, just so I could make sure it all goes together.

Fun summer color yarn with my sun hat and bathing suit, just so I could make sure it all goes together.

Then I realized the instructions said to use 5 strands of yarns, so I added a light slivery gray. After I watched the tutorial on arm knitting, I got started. I had to re-cast on several times because I made the stitches too tight. On needles this would just be annoying, but on your arms you start cutting off circulation. NOT GOOD.

Ok, a few tries later, I had made it a few rows:

DSCN5065

I did finish the project, but I’m not thrilled with it. So much so that I’m not even going to subject you to the amorphous blob I produced. To be fair, I don’t think anything is wrong with the pattern (in case you wanted to try it yourself). My problems were:

  1. I used bulky yarn instead of worsted weight. This resulted in a very bulky finished piece that didn’t look as light as airy as the original.
  2. It’s waaayyy too big. Perhaps this is due to the yarn. It just swallowed me up with a I put it on and I couldn’t get comfortable wearing it.
  3. I don’t like the color combination.  Yes, it’s bright and colorful, but just doesn’t thrill me. Can’t really pinpoint why, but I’m not going to try to convince myself I like it.

Since I only have bulky weight yarn, I think I’ll rip it all out and start over using just 2 or 3 yarns. It’s a work in progress, but I’m determined to make a cute summer accessory! I hardly ever come across summer knitting that I like or want to attempt, so I’m not going to let this setup defeat me!

Talk to you soon!

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Easter Flowers are Charming | Knitting Naturals

  2. Pingback: Summer Shawl Complete! Ta Da! | Knitting Naturals

Leave a Reply

