One is Enough – When Quality Matters

A while ago, I read Courtney Carver’s One is Enough:mini misson post on paring down to just one of certain items (like 1 pen, 1 cup, 1 plate, etc).  It intrigued me, and got me thinking about how to apply the practice to my own life.

Photo Credit, Sarah Reid

Certainly, this approach requires that you place a high emphasis on quality. I wanted to discover the benefit of having just one item, but if I’m only going to have one, it had better last a long time and hold up to heavy use because I don’t have any other to fall back on. So I chose the best of what I had, or if I needed a new one, I got the best I could afford. I now have just one of the following:

  • 1 pair of jeans
  • 1 belt
  • 1 pair of tennis shoes
  • 1 slow cooker
  • 1 television
  • 1 whisk
  • 1 baking sheet
  • 1 pair of heavy duty scissors to cut through everything
  • 1 reusable glass water bottle
  • 1 vacuum (we used to have a few hand-held ones that we didn’t replace after they stopped working)
  • 1 printer that we share
  • 1 coffee travel mug

Even though I use to have multiples of these items, I don’t feel deprived by only having one. In fact, I find it a lot easier to clean, store, and organize now.

Photo Credit, Christian Schnettelker

Sure, I still have trouble with this idea in some areas–I can’t wrap my head around just using one coffee cup because I have a strange love for mugs. But I say take it one step at a time, and tackle what you can handle. Maybe my next task is to have just ONE to-do list on my desk. The piles of post-its just are driving me crazy!

I’ve found living with less to be a wonderful and freeing experience, and I want you to join me in that feeling. I still have a long way to go, but the journey is all part of the adventure!

What do you have just one of? Do you find it’s enough? What will you challenge yourself to get rid of?

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: Challenge Yourself and You Will Not Fail | Knitting Naturals

Leave a Reply

