On The Needles…A Custom Order

All this week I’ve been working on a custom order for 3 pairs of fingerless gloves made from alpaca yarn.

knit fingerless gloves in progress

First I have to say, this is the softest alpaca yarn I think I’ve ever worked with.  It’s from a fellow Etsy seller in Montana, Just Skein Crazy, who sources the yarn from Peru. I’ll definitely be getting future supplies from him. And the order came with Peruvian money! Winner of the “most unique free gift” award in my opinion.

In addition to the light gray and purple colors shown, a mocha colored pair was also requested.  I love knitting up these gloves, and the customer was glad they’ll keep her hands warm this winter.  She initially ordered this dark chocolate brown pair, also made from alpaca:

DSCN3239

And liked them so much she ordered 3 more pairs to help with her arthritis.  She did ask that I make the thumb a little longer, which was no trouble at all.

They turned out beautifully and were shipped today!


With the holidays just a few weeks away, remember to get your orders in early! Want a color you don’t see in the shop or a completely specialized piece? I’d be happy work closely with you to make sure it’s exactly what you want. Just send me a conversation on Etsy or use the Contact form right here on the blog.  I can’t wait to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

