Awesome Crochet Dish Scrubbies

This isn’t a pattern of my own, but one that I’ve been wanting to try out for a while.  A few weeks ago I developed the Eco Knit Sponge, with is super absorbent and great for washing dishes or cleaning up spills on the counter.  While the sponge does have ridges on one side, I found that sometimes I just have some really stuck-on food that needs a little more power to scrub off.  So I crocheted a few dish scrubbies and have loved the results!

I will say they turned out much bigger than I thought they would. For whatever reason I just thought they’d be little circle just to scrub a small area, but the pattern makes one as big as my palm! The first one I made turned out quite lopsided, and isn’t pictured here.  These two I actually gave to my Mom, since she had mentioned wanting additional scrubbies for her house. Hopefully she finds them as useful as I have!

crochet dish scrubbies

This is a great project to use up extra yarn, especially if you have any that is scratchy and not useful for any kind of garment that you would wear.  Even if you don’t have enough of one color, just use what you have.  I like the look of using different colors in them, which is what I had to do when I ran out of brown yarn.

Crochet Dish Scrubby Pattern

Original pattern by Judith can be found here.
Materials
  • size H crochet hook
  • worsted weight yarn
  • yarn needle for finishing
Directions
  • Chain 21, leaving a long enough tail to weave through the entire length of the finished piece
  • Row 1: 2sc in 2nd ch from hook, sc across to the last 2 ch, sc last 2 ch together, ch1 and turn
  • Row 2:  sc first 2 sts together, sc across to last st, 2 sc in last st, ch1 and turn
  • Row 3: 2 sc in first st, sc across to the last 2 sts, sc last 2 sts together, ch1 and turn
  • Repeat rows 2 & 3 for a total of 21 rows.
  • Bind off, leaving a long enough tail to weave through the entire length of the finished piece.
You will have two long tails now (one at the beginning and one at the end) on opposite sides of the piece.
Slip stitch the beginning row and ending row together.
Using the yarn needle, weave one of the tails through the edges of the rows and pull tight to cinch that side together.  Tie a knot to secure, trim the remaining yarn and weave in ends.
Repeat this on the other side, weaving the tail in and out of the edges of the rows and pulling tight to cinch together. Tie a knot, trim yarn, and weave in ends.
The edges of the rows now become the top and bottom of the scrubbie, you just have to squish is flat to make it look the photos.  Keep in mind the double-thickness can delay drying time, so I usually make sure to wring the scrubbie out extra good before setting it out to dry.  Happy crafting!
Crochet Dish Scrubby
Crochet Dish Scrubbies Pattern
Leave a Reply

