Product Review: Lodge Cast Iron Reversible Griddle

This past Christmas I got this awesome cast iron griddle as a gift.  It was definitely on my list (I’m a huge fan of cast iron), and was intrigued by the idea of a double-burner griddle/grill when I read about the one Tammy and Logan Strobel use in their tiny house on wheels.

I’ve been a big fan of Tammy’s blog, Rowdy Kittens, for a quite a while.  That lead me to her husband’s blog, and ultimately this post about their kitchen, where I clicked on a link for “a perfect fitting cast iron griddle and indoor cast-iron grill for the stove.

I found a slightly larger model, the Pro Grid Reversible Griddle, on the Lodge website and immediately added it to my gift list. It quickly became a staple in my kitchen.  Ok, so on to the review.

cast iron grill pan

Photo Credit: Lodge Manufacturing

This griddle is awesome.  Here’s why:

  • Covers two burners to increase your cooking surface
  • Is reversible so you can grill veggies or burgers on one side, then use the other side for pancakes
  • Roasts veggies in the oven PERFECTLY
  • Is a great way to grill indoors
  • Both sides have a recessed ridge to catch any grease or drippings
  • Cast iron is basically indestructible and will hold up for years and years and years (so I’ll have this the rest of my life)
  • Heats evenly and holds heat better than other metal cookware
  • Pre-seasoned and easy to clean
  • Lodge is the only remaining U.S. manufacturer of cast iron (my patriotic Buy American sentiment)
  • Lodge has been around since 1896, has a strong reputation, and makes a high quality product
  • Bonus: I get a nice arm workout (it’s pretty heavy)

Since January, I’ve used this pan more in the oven than the stovetop (though I’ve used it on the stovetop plenty too).  It’s essentially replaced my baking sheet, which was unexpected.  Though I haven’t attempted to bake cookies on it, I now use it to roast all sorts of veggies or make potato wedges on it. So far, every dish has turned out amazingly well–better than my previous non-stick baking sheet.  The even heat makes sure the veggies are nice and brown, but none of them burn (even the smaller or thinner pieces), which was a problem with my baking sheet.

I’ve used it on a glass stove without any issues, and have made pancakes on it quite a few times.  If I was still eating meat, this thing would be even more versatile, but I find plenty of uses for it with my plant-based diet–like these delicious roasted radishes.

roasted radishes

Now that summer is here I’ll be using the grill side much more often–I’m thinking black bean burgers and grilled zucchini. Yum!

When I started downsizing and simplifying my life, I knew the kitchen would be the hardest part. It’s my domain; it easily has the most items of any room in the house, and it’s where I spend a lot of time.  So part of my goal was to whittle down to a few key pieces that I love, that are versatile, and that will stand the test of time. This pan fits all that critera, and will be in my kitchen for years to come.  Another item that makes the list: my crock pot.  But that’s for a future post!

Until then, happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

