Product Review: Pyrex Glass Storage Containers

Pyrex dishesLast year (maybe the year before?) I decided I wanted Pyrex glass storage containers to replace all my plastic-ware and other various plastic containers from who knows where.  Why?

  • Plastic can leach chemicals into your food, especially if you reheat them.
  • Tomato sauce stains are pretty permanent and unsightly.
  • Lids never fit, or I had to try several before I found the right match
  • Stacking and storing was always a problem
  • I’d lose a lid, or a bottom, and then having extras floating around I didn’t know what to do with
  • I realized that all this plastic will end up in a landfill much sooner than glass, because plastic bubbles, melts, stains, and gets dingy a lot faster

While I really wanted to just go out and buy myself a whole set, I knew that was a little crazy (and more than my budget allowed), so I slowly started acquiring different pieces.  For Christmas I got Pyrex bake ware and storage bowls.  I found a few more pieces at a thrift shop.  I did break down a buy a small set from the store, which is where I got the two rectangular pieces.  The largest bowl in the back of the picture I got from my grandmother.

Finally I feel like I have a decent set, and am proud to say I no longer own or use any cheap plastic containers. Surprisingly, I feel most of my storage needs are met with just a few different sizes, and I think the only size I could use more of is the small 1 cup bowl.

Wondering how just two shapes and only 5 sizes can storage all my possible leftovers?  Here’s what I use them for:

Round containers

  • soups
  • salads
  • lunches
  • leftover pasta, beans, couscous, rice
  • cut up fruit or vegetables
  • applesauce
  • mashed potatoes
  • largest bowl holds my spinach or lettuce for salads

Rectangular containers

  • pizza
  • sandwiches
  • salads
  • bread sticks
  • packed lunch (i.e. baked potato nestled next to steam broccoli)
  • carrots, celery, cut zucchini or any other long vegetable

I can’t think of a single instance where I felt like I didn’t have the right container or the right size. So if you think you won’t be able to store all your food, don’t worry, it will all work out.

Now on to information that’s more suited to a proper product review, if there is such a thing.

Why choose glass?
I chose glass because it’s more environmentally friendly (can be easily recycled), and because it’s non-absorbent. I don’t have to worry about chemicals leaching into my food, or my food seeping into the plastic.  It’s easy to clean, and honestly just looks nicer than plastic

Why choose Pyrex?
I choose Pyrex for a few reasons.  First, it was a name I know and trust, and that my family has used for years. I also couldn’t find another brand that had such a strong reputation in kitchenware.  It’s heat resistant and drop resistant, which I tested when I dropped my dish of applesauce on a concrete floor at work.  Applesauce flew everywhere and my dish skidded halfway across the room, but thankfully it didn’t have so much as a crack in it.

Do I recommend it?
Yes! I’m sure you probably figured that out pretty early on. Overall I simply recommend that you get rid of your plastic-ware, even if it’s just replacing one container at a time.  That can be done with glass (like Pyrex) or with stainless steel containers. If you’re worried that glass will be too heavy to carry with you for packed lunches, then certainly try the stainless steel.  I just don’t have any experience with those containers to make specific recommendations at this time.  I also tell myself that carrying around heavy glass is somehow a workout for my arms.

*Please note that Pyrex manufactured before 1998 is made from borosilicate glass, which is completely clear and very heat resistant.  This type is more likely to be found secondhand in thrift shops and garage sales.

All Pyrex sold in the U.S. today is made from tempered soda-lime glass, which has a blue or green tint and is more shatter-resistant when dropped, but it is less heat resistant than borosilicate glass. Keep this in mind if working in extreme temperatures where the glass may be exposed to sudden changes in temperature and shatter. Most of my Pryex is this soda-lime glass, and you can see that the edges look more green on most of my pieces pictured.

Leave a Reply

