DIY Dry Shampoo for Dark Hair

DIY dry shampooSo I have a dirty little confession to make–I don’t wash my hair everyday. It’s a lot of work to wash, dry, and style so much hair every single day, and I’ve read it’s healthier to not strip the natural oils out of your hair all the time anyway.

On days I don’t wash my hair though, I don’t want to look like a greaseball, so I use my own homemade dry shampoo.  Previously I simply used baby powder, which worked well to soak up excess oil, but white powder on my dark hair always left my hair looking a little grayer than I would like.

I wasn’t about to spend a ton of money on store-bought dry shampoo, which is expensive and can contain all sorts of chemicals that I don’t want in my life.  I was thrilled to find this recipe for a homemade version tailored specifically for dark hair, which is just ridiculously easy.  Ready for it?

  • 2 Tbsp cornstarch (or arrowroot powder)
  • 2 Tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon (optional, great if you have red in your hair)

Yup, that’s it.  I already had it all in my cupboard.  Put all ingredients into an airtight container, shake well, and use an old makeup brush to apply to your roots.  I used a mason jar and store it in my bathroom medicine cabinet.  After applying, I simply rub it in, then finish by running a brush through my hair a few times to make sure you can’t notice the powder.

Quick, easy, affordable, and ecofriendly (no chemicals, no extra packaging, no waste!).  What could be better than all that? How about you?  Do you use dry shampoo?  Any tips/tricks that you’ve found work better than others?  I’d love to hear your opinion!  And to know that I’m not the only one that doesn’t wash my hair everyday 🙂

Leave a Reply

