Happy New Year!

Happy New YearEvery year I make New Year Resolutions. I write down big goals I want to achieve, how much weight I want to lose by summer, and how many books I want to read in the coming year.  The problem with these resolutions is that I usually make them too big or too finite and go after them with an “all or nothing” mindset.  This just sets me up for failure pretty quickly.  As soon as I skip a workout or fall behind on my reading schedule or don’t blog as often as I set out too, all my plans go out the window and I give up.

Seems silly, doesn’t it?  But I have a feeling most of us approach our resolutions this way.  If we don’t stay on the exact path we planned, we feel like we failed.  But you can decide to make a different path, take a fork in the road, or pause for a while. As long as you’re making progress, then you’re one step ahead of where you were yesterday.

So here are my more achievable resolutions for the year:

  1. Live simply. Decide what is cluttering my life and what is actually bringing joy and meaning to it. Don’t overcomplicate things (this applies to work, relationships, and even everyday processes like making coffee or picking a place to eat).
  2. Eat healthy whole foods.  I’ve been vegetarian for quite a while now (not without a few slip-ups mind you), and have always loved fruits and veggies and healthy food, but I feel ready to take another step in my food journey. This year I’m cutting out processed breads and refined sugars.
  3. Move more.  I love to walk to my dog and be outside, but I want to be even more active, especially in the winter months.  That will mean less time in front of the computer and more time cleaning the house, shoveling snow, and maybe even riding a bike (weather permitting).
  4. Reconnect with the real world. Spend time socializing with the rest of the house, stare out the window when I enjoy my morning coffee instead of browsing the web, go outside and throw sticks with the dog.
  5. Reconnect with myself. Lately I’ve been feeling a little sluggish.  Maybe it’s all the holiday parties and rushing around and working more hours than I care to at my day job. Whatever the reason, I’m feeling out of balance. This year I want to do yoga, meditate, read books to feed the mind and soul, write more on real paper with a real pen, and stretch everyday.
Leave a Reply

